List of Presidents of India (1947-2013)

List of Presidents of India (1947-2012)

1.Rajendra Prasad 
26-Jan-1950  -13-May-1962
Political party : Indian National Congress.

Prasad was the first President of independent India. He was also an independence activist of the Indian Independence Movement. Prasad was the only president to serve for two terms in office.

2.Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
13-May-1962   – 13-May-1967
Political party : Independent
Radhakrishnan was a prominent philosopher, writer, a Knight of the Realm and also held the position of vice chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University. He was also made a Knight of the Golden Army of Angels by Pope Paul VI.

3.Zakir Hussain 
13-May-1967 – 3-May-1969
Political party : Independent
Hussain was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna. He died before his term of office was ended.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri * 
3-May-1969  – 20-Jul-1969
Political party : Independent
Giri was appointed as acting president following the death of Hussain. He resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections.

Muhammad Hidayatullah * 
20-Jul-1969  – 24-Aug-1969
Political party : Independent
Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India, and was a recipient of the Order of the British Empire. He served as acting president until the election of Giri as the President of India.

3.Varahagiri Venkata Giri 
24-Aug-1969   – 24-Aug-1974
Political party : Independent
Giri is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna, and has functioned as Indian Minister of Labour and High Commissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka).

4.Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 
24-Aug-1974 – 11-Feb-1977
Political party : Indian National Congress
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed served as a Minister before being elected as president. He died in 1977 before his term of office ended, and was the second Indian president to have died during a term of office.

5.Basappa Danappa Jatti * 
11-Feb-1977   – 25-Jul-1977
Political party : Independent
Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed’s term of office, and was sworn in as acting president upon Ahmed’s death. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore.

6.Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 
25-Jul-1977 – 25-Jul-1982
Political party : Janata Party
Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh. He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977 and relinquished this office on 13 July 1977 to become the 6th President of India.

7.Giani Zail Singh 
25-Jul-1982    – 25-Jul-1987
Political party : Indian National Congress
In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister.

8.Ramaswamy Venkataraman
25-Jul-1987  – 25-Jul-1992
Political party : Indian National Congress
In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the India’s independence movement.After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence.

9.Shankar Dayal Sharma 
25-Jul-1992 – 25-Jul-1997
Political party : Indian National Congress
Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.

10.Kocheril Raman Narayanan 
25-Jul-1997- 25-Jul-2002
Political party : Independent
Narayanan served as India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law and was also a chancellor in several universities. He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University.

11.A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
25-Jul-2002 -25-Jul-2007
Political party : Independent
Kalam was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India’s ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs. Kalam also received the Bharat Ratna.

12.Pratibha Patil
Political party : Indian National Congress
Patil was the first woman to become President of India. She was also the first female Governor.

13.Pranab Mukherjee
25th-July 2012

Political party : Indian National Congress
Mukherjee was a senior leader of the Indian National Congress until he resigned from political office preceding his election as President on 22 July 2012. He took office as the 13th President of India on 25 July 2012.Mukherjee has received several accolades and honors. In 1984, he was rated as the best Finance Minister in the World according to a survey of Euromoney magazine.

 Easy Way to prepare for Bank and Competitive Exams


Leave a Reply